To Envy Those Who Grieve

Walter Singleton

I went to a funeral a short time ago.  While nearly all funerals are sad, this one was particularly heartbreaking, as the deceased had passed away, suddenly, unexpectedly, and at a relatively young age.  A mother, still in the prime of middle age, was taken without warning.   A large and loving family had gathered from all over the United States to grieve the passing of a woman that they all had fond memories of.  Although I didn’t know the woman at all, it was obvious that she would be missed by a great many people.

While I sat and watched the family pour out their grief during the funeral, and later the burial, a strange emotion came over me.  It was an emotion I would have never expected to feel, and it took me some time to identify it.  It was envy.  I felt envious of the family that…

View original post 922 more words

One response to “To Envy Those Who Grieve

Leave a Reply

